25 Candidates withdraw their nomination on the last day

25 Candidates withdraw their nomination on the last day

On the last day of withdrawal of candidature, a total of 25 candidates have withdrawn their candidature at the Office of Municipal Returning Officer East, (MRO) today. The withdrawal process was done in the presence of General Observer for all wards of Singtam Nagar Panchayat and Rangpo Nagar Panchayat Shri Kuber Bhandari, Secretary Excise Department.

The MRO East Shri Ragul K. informed that 21candidates of GMC namely Shri Menakshi Kanta Sharma who had filed his nomination from Daragaon- Lumsey ward and Smt Peden Bhutia who had filed her nomination from Tathangchen ward, Smt. Choden Bhutia of Chandmari ward, Shri Damber Kumar Chettri, Shri Digendra Gurung, Smt Deo Kumari Pradhan, Shri Chiteez Thapa, Shri Ram Prasad Basnet, Shri Anal Gurung, Md. Shafique who had filed their nominations from Arithang-II ward, Ms. Manju Rai who had filed her nomination from Lower Tadong-6th Mile ward, Smt. Hem Kumari Chettri from Upper Sichey ward, Smt Sara Gurung, Shri Rameshwar Tamang and Shri Gyamtso Tamang from Lower MG Marg-Lall Bazar ward, Smt Prerna Darnal and Smt Lachi Mangrati/Sarki from Diesel Power House ward, Shri Ajay Kumar Agarwal from Upper Mg Marg ward, Shri Udai Lama from Pani House ward and Pradeep Chettri from Burtuk ward and 5 candidates namely Badrudin Ansari, Ms. Meera Kumari, Shri Chotey Lall Prasad who had filed their nomination from Rangpo Upper Bazar ward, Smt Rekha Gurung from Majhitar ward, Shri Agam Kami from Mandi Bazar ward under Rangpo Nagar Panchayat have withdrawn their candidature today. With the withdrawal of 26 candidates till today, a total of 102 are in fray for the Municipal Elections 2021 from 24 wards of Urban Local Bodies of East District. Among them, 64 candidates will be contesting from 15 wards from Gangtok Municipal Corporation, 21 from 5 wards of Singtam Nagar Panchayat and 17 from 4 wards of Rangpo Nagar Panchayat.

The candidates from five different wards namely Shri Karma Tempo Rapgyal from Arithang-I ward, Ms. Sabita Pradhan from Deorali-Upper Syari ward, Smt Rubina Gurung from Lower Tadong-6th Mile ward, Ms Aruna Chettri from Upper Sichey ward under Gangtok Municipal Corporation and Ms. Larishna Tamang from Chanatar ward of Rangpo Nagar Panchayat are declared uncontested.

It may be mentioned that a total of four candidatures were not accepted during the scrutiny process held on 9th March 2021.

Later, MRO East convened a meeting with all the contesting candidates of Urban Local Bodies of East District at conference hall of DAC East. The meeting was attended by General Observer for all wards of GMC Shri Tshewang Gyachho, Secretary Social Justice Department and General Observer for all wards of Singtam Nagar Panchayat and Rangpo Nagar Panchayat Shri Kuber Bhandari, Secretary Excise Department, ADC East (Hq.) also AMRO for GMC Shri Hemant Rai, ADC East Shri Tushar Nikhare also the AMRO for Singtam and Rangpo Nagar Panchayat, officials and staff of DAC, Sichey.

The MRO handed over form 35 (declaration of the result of election when the seat is uncontested)  to the 5 uncontested candidates. The Municipal Returning Officer East also allotted symbols to the contesting candidates.

The contesting candidates were also provided candidate Identity Cards for Municipal Elections 2021.

The General Observers explained in detail the various provisions of Model Code of Conduct (MCC) and asked the candidates to follow the MCC guidelines provided in the booklet in true letter and spirit and coordinate and cooperate with the election officials for conducting election in a smooth and fair manner. They also informed that whatever symbols have been allotted to the candidates, the same will be printed in ballot box and asked them to use during the campaigning process. They also appealed them to maintain law and order during the entire election process for the peaceful conduct of election.

The meeting also discussed about the rallies and meetings of the candidates during the process of election and asked them to stick to the officially notified areas for postering, bannering and meetings. It was informed to the candidates that due permission of Public Address System has to be obtained from the local Police Station.

During the meeting, it was also apprised that any complaint against violation of MCC should be reported to the concerned Sector Magistrates and Sector Police Officials. For further queries and grievances, if any, the contact details of General Observers and Sector Magistrates are as follows.


1.Shri Tsewang Gyaccho for all wards of GMC-7908339589

2. Shri Kuber Bhandari for all wards of Singtam and Rangpo Nagar Panchayat- 9434406976.


3. Shri Hemant Rai AMRO for GMC -7407896459

4. Shri Tushar Nikhare AMRO for Singtam and Rangpo Nagar Panchayat,  - 9870234897/7384354886.


5. Shri Robin Sewa SDM East (Hq)./Sector Magistrate for 1 to 10 wards under GMC - 7908110356

6. Shri Tshering Bhutia SDM Gangtok/Sector Magistrate for 11 to 19 wards under GMC -9593370533.

7. Shri Himmat Rai SDM Rangpo/ Sector Magistrate for all wards of Singtam and Rangpo Nagar Panchayat- 9832556777.

During the meeting, symbols were also allotted to the contesting candidates.

Following is the final names of contesting candidates of GMC, SNP and RNP of East District for Municipal Elections 2021.